USD ($)
United States Dollar
India Rupee

Cisco DevNet Certification: Details

Created by Vanshika Sharma in Articles 5 Jan 2024

The world of technology is all about updates and innovations. And here we are seeing a crazy yet productive cocktail of two different IT domains. Yes, there is a collaboration between the Network and DevOps fields. The IT and science industry is known for reducing manual activities and incorporating automation as much as possible. And DevNet Professional certification is the result of the same. But, before looking at the in-depth details of Cisco certified DevNet professionals, let us first look at the position of it in the Cisco Certification hierarchy.

Cisco Certifications and its Levels of Certifications

Cisco is one of the leading companies that provides different products for network and security for better and productive performances through software and devices. And possessing a smooth command of these devices is the motive that Cisco came up with the certification and training programs. These certifications are to validate the candidate’s skills and ability to concur and troubleshoot the errors occurring in the devices and products.

To understand the stand of Cisco Certified DevNet Professional Certification, it is important to have a clear picture of the hierarchy of Cisco Certifications. Therefore, below is the list of certifications with their levels.

The 4 levels and their Cisco certifications are as follows:-



Associate Level


Professional Level

● CCNP Enterprise

 CCNP Data Center

 CCNP Security

 CCNP Service Provider

● CCNP Collaboration

● Cisco Certified CyberOps Professional

● Cisco Certified DevNet Professional

Expert Level

● CCDE v3.0 (coming soon)

● CCIE Collaboration

● CCIE Data Center

● CCIE Enterprise Infrastructure CCIE Enterprise Wireless

● CCIE Security

● CCIE Service Provider

As of now, Cisco is the above-mentioned certifications in their educational programme. However, the CyberOps Professional certification falls under the 3rd level i.e. the Professional-level Cisco certification.

Eye on Cisco Certified DevNet Professional Certification and Training Course

The DevNet professional is someone who is responsible to make the network secure and work efficiently through automation using the scripting of python. It is one of a kind where it single handedly validates the skills of software developers, DevOps engineers, automation specialists, and other software professionals. It will help the professionals to work on applications, automation, and infrastructure for the network, Internet of Things (IoT), DevOps, and Webex.

The certification & training tests you on:-

● Software Development and Design

● Understanding and Using APIs

● Cisco Platforms and Development

● Application Deployment and Security

● Infrastructure and Automation

Job roles after Cisco Certified DevNet Professional Certification and Training Course

Due to this much diversity in this professional path or you can say, due to this cocktail of scripts and network, it opens doors of many designations. With this huge area of scope, the number of opportunities and demand is also high in the IT sector. Some of such job roles after this certification is

● Developer/ Sr. Developer

● Software Engineer

● Applications Developer/ Sr. Developer

● Automation Engineer/ Sr. Engineer

● Cloud Developer/ Sr. Cloud Developer

● Site Reliability Engineer (SRE)

● DevOps Engineer/ Sr. DevOps Engineer

● Test Development Engineer

● Automation Engineer

● Security Automation Engineer

● Associate Site Reliability Engineer (SRE)

● Jr/Entry-level DevOps Engineer

● Test Development Engineer

● Automation Engineer

Prerequisites for  Cisco Certified DevNet Professional Certification and Training Course

As such, there is NO formal prerequisite to appear in the examination for Cisco Certified DevNet Professional Certification.

But while talking about the recommended knowledge and experience, according to the official site of Cisco, 3 to 5 years of experience in the same field for designing and implementing applications is suggested. However, it also includes that the application and design should be built on top of Cisco platforms with experience in Python.

It is even classified according to some job roles too, such as:

● Experienced network engineers looking to expand skills to include software and automation.

● Developers who are moving into automation and DevOps as a sign of growth.

● Solution architects moving to the Cisco ecosystem.

● Infrastructure developers designing hardened production environments.

Number of exams and domains that need to be qualified for DevNet Professional

Since the certification validates quite complex and major skills, therefore, getting the certification is not that easy as well. And if talking about the training for the same, then also it requires in-depth knowledge of two different fields which are now interconnected.

There are 2 exams offered by Cisco that need to be qualified to get the badge of Cisco Certified DevNet Professional. One is the core which focuses on software development and design skills and knowledge and the other is the concentration exam which focuses on the industry’s in-demand topics. The concentration exams have many options where the candidate has to choose one of them. They are as follows:-


● 350-901 DEVCOR: Developing Applications Using Cisco Core Platforms and APIs

Concentration exams (Choose one)

● 300-435 ENAUTO: Automating and Programming Cisco Enterprise Solutions (ENAUTO)

● 300-835 CLAUTO: Automating and Programming Cisco Collaboration Solutions (CLAUTO)

● 300-635 DCAUTO: Automating and Programming Cisco Data Center Solutions (DCAUTO)

● 300-535 SPAUTO: Automating and Programming Cisco Service Provider Solutions (SPAUTO)

● 300-735 SAUTO: Automating and Programming Cisco Security Solutions (SAUTO)

● 300-910 DEVOPS: Implementing DevOps Solutions and Practices using Cisco Platforms (DEVOPS)

● 300-915 DEVIOT: Developing Solutions using Cisco IoT and Edge Platforms (DEVIOT)

● 300-920 DEVWBX: Developing Applications for Cisco Webex and Webex Devices (DEVWBX)

The above are some of the details compiled together for a better understanding of aspirants thinking to grab the certification and training for Cisco Certified DevNet Professional.

Vanshika Sharma

More... | Author`s Bog | Book a Meeting

Comments (0)


Share this post with others

Contact learning advisor

New Cisco ACI Training Live Batch Starts June 15th!
New Cisco ACI Training Live Batch Starts June 15th!
Advance your career? Don't miss out on our Cisco Application Centric Infrastructure (ACI) training ...
Enroll Now